Facing Your Fear

parachute

parachute (Photo credit: o0bsessed)

This past weekend I was given the opportunity to face one of my biggest fears, heights. My father, who is nearing his 51st birthday, has always wanted to go skydiving. I also added this adventure to my bucket list several years ago, despite my irrational fear of anything above 50 ft in the air. Little did I know that I would one day push myself out of an airplane 13,500 ft in the air. It was this spontaneous decision to go sky diving that taught me one very valuable lesson about the meaning of life and it’s challenges.

Heights have always been my only source of weakness in the fear department. Anything else and I could remain relatively, if not entirely calm in the face of. But allow me to look down from the seventh floor balcony and you can soon find me hugging the wall. Don’t even get me started over how I feel when myself or anyone else in my proximity is leaning over the rail. Needless to say, anything involving heights isn’t my specialty. So why on earth would I ever add sky diving to my bucket list of necessary things to do? Because if there is one thing that life has taught me, it is that the only way to not only live but be alive, is by facing those things which fear you.

So 13,500 ft in the air and a prayer later I took a leap of faith, or shall I say a jump of faith, or even better a front flip of faith out of an airplane. I allowed myself to free fall at 120 mph into the unknown and embraced the possibility of the end of my existence. All with a smile plastered on my face. Thankfully the parachute released without any complications. I was granted another day and the experience of floating through the empty scenic sky. Upon landing I had gained much more than the thrill of looking fear in the face and telling it to take a hike, or a jump. I had gained the confidence and courage to know that if I could do this, I could do just about anything.  I had finally allowed my faith to be bigger than my fear, and that’s all that life is really about.

What is it that your afraid of? Don’t think and just do it, because it’s far better to be alive than to simply live.

Leave a Reply

