Change your thoughts, change the world.

“Watch your thoughts; they become words.

Watch your words; they become actions.

Watch your actions: they become habits.

Watch your habits; they become your character.

Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.”

-Lao-Tze

If all human beings grasped the concept that their thoughts, in which they have total control over, CONTROL their lives…this world would be a more euphoric place with out a doubt. After entering an egocentric world of negativity last year and forming habits in which did not benefit myself or my future, I decided to take control of my life once again. In order to do so, I knew that the source of every unhealthy habit I had configured lye in my own thinking. I knew that the first thing I must do in order to redirect myself with the best intentions was to first redirect my thoughts. Now, this was not an easy task by any means, but it was one that was well worth the time.

By redirecting my thinking to a more positive practice, I feel as if nothing is impossible or out of reach in this world. I feel as if I can do absolutely anything. In fact, I know I can. And so can you. So why was I so determined in the first place to take control of myself and my own destiny? Because when I sat down and thought about life and the very meaning of it all, I had associated myself and my own existence to the existence of others. My thoughts revolved around exceeding the expectations of others and gaining the acceptances and affection of other people. And that’s when I had a revelation, I am absolutely the only person in this world that I can rely on at all times. Me. Only me. No one else. My mother isn’t always going to be there to answer the phone when I need her never ending advice. My father isn’t going to be there for me to mend every broken heart. My friends aren’t going to be there every waking second to assure me I am not alone. Because I am alone. We are alone in our own thoughts and our own heads. And this life, our lives, are only about us and our accomplishments that we make for us.

So begin doing things for yourself. Look around at the areas of your life that you have let fall by the waste side due to unhealthy habits that you have formed by your own thoughts of remiss. Have you let your health take a toll due to your unhealthy eating habits? Have you let your cleanliness fall short due to your “lack of time”? Have you told yourself that you can’t doing something when really you can. You can do absolutely anything and find the time for all of the things that are important to you if you try. But by accomplishing a task that you know you did not put all of your effort into, your settling for a mediocre life. We weren’t born into these bodies to be mediocre. We are all destined for greatness. So start out simple, change your thoughts to more constructive and creative ones. And start becoming enthusiastic about your life and the endless possibilities it possesses.

P.S. It takes 21 days to form a habit, start forming healthy ones and start making this world a better place.

4 thoughts on “Change your thoughts, change the world.

  1. We wish to thank you again for the lovely ideas you offered Janet when preparing a post-graduate research as well as, most importantly, with regard to providing the many ideas in a blog post. Provided we had known of your website a year ago, i’d have been rescued from the useless measures we were having to take. Thanks to you.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Where are your thoughts leading you? « Anita Kellam: www.homefitnessjunky.com

Leave a Reply

